Daily Archives: September 5, 2010

Tears, Pixels and Vulnerability (Audio and Video)

Today has been quite an interesting day. It’s Sunday… so that’s always a busy day for the ‘pastor’, but it was different today. In fact, this entire week has been a struggle… and I normally wouldn’t describe my weeks with the word ‘struggle’.

I shared a message today at THE PLACE on relationships… which sounds easy enough. It was the way the message traveled that made it difficult. I started off in my mind with an easy subject ‘Sex and Love ~ What’s the Difference?’ It was going to be a fun and extremely relevant message. But when my fingers hit the keyboard, they started moving an entirely different direction. I started writing about pain and relationships and isolation. I started to write my heart… my memories… my reality. I went to a place I hadn’t visited in a long time and tears peppered my keyboard… but i continued to type.

I was scared at the pixels which stared back from my screen. The words brought pain that i hadn’t touched in a long time and i questioned whether the words were just for me or if they were meant to be shared. The more i prayed, the more i sensed the confirmation to share the words peering through my soul. With fear, i obeyed.

(If you’d like to listen to this message, simply click here to hear it.)

I ended up sharing the message today. I tried to find a way out of it. I worried that i would start crying and not be able to finish my message. I worried that it would be too personal. I worried that it was only for me. I finished the message.

One by one, people came up to me and threw their arms around me. There weren’t many words, simply tears left on my shoulder as a confirmation that they understood what i went through… they related with my reality… they were in that place too and they were glad someone noticed.

I think that’s the real message for us as Christians. It’s OK to experience pain and mess up and miss it. It’s OK to stand before a group of people and bare your soul. It’s OK to say that you don’t have it all together and that you have made some major mistakes in your life too. But, through those mistakes, you’ve learned and grew as a person.

So many Christians feel like they have to have it all together or be perfect for the people. You don’t. You just need to be real and vulnerable and continue striving to walk a life that is pleasing to the Lord.

Today, be encouraged. I know that I am. There is a freedom in being real and people will find great strength ~ even if its through your weaknesses.

Love you guys!
GP
Check out this amazing video by THE FRAY that goes with my message.

09.05.10 ~ STICKY SIGNIFICANCE – “Relationships”

Join THE PLACE as we dig deep into some very painful areas of life. What do we do with pain? What do we do when we’ve been hurt and we want to swim out to an emotional island and not let anyone else near us? Let Pastor Greg open up some deep wounds in his heart which will encourage us all to take steps toward healing.

Enjoy!

http://gphintz.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/09-05-10-sticky-significance-relationships-final-copy.mp3