Daily Archives: September 9, 2010

Kerouac, Madness and a Life to Remember

I spent most of my day in the car today. I was driving all over Phoenix… sweaty with no AC I drove… through the congested streets I drove… with mindless motors roaming to and fro I drove. My only joy came from the voice in my ears. It wasn’t that of the Lord… but the voice of Matt Dillon reading Kerouac’s ‘On the Road’.

It was magic. It brought a smile to my face. I love the descriptions… the scenes… the adventure… the truth. I was reminded of my favorite lines from the book. It reads…

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn, like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes “Awww!”

Jack… I relate. Thank you for penning the words that echo in my soul! You make me smile 🙂

GP